HEEDLESS

image

I saw him.
He laid eyes on me. Smiled.
I did too.
I walk towards him. Nearing, I can hear his heartbeat.
Mine too.

I stop right in front of the table next to where he was.
Hey! I told my friends. Small conversations happened.
I was mindful of his presence. And constantly stealing glances of him.

He was taking no care. I was instantly erased from his world.
Hell! What was the smile for?
Fool, I was. He smiled to everyone!
I was nothing. He was oblivious of me.

Or I thought he was.

A friend asked for my attention
I gave him mine. “Can I have your phone number?”

His spoon dropped. I saw his reaction.
He heard the asking.
I thought he was heedless of me.
Was he? Maybe.

Leave a Reply

